Recipe #45 – hot spicy fish

photo 1 (19)Hot and spicy fish or samak harra (under Coriander, page 234 in my edition of the book) was my first recipe since returning from 2 weeks holidays overseas. My jet lag forced to me to look for something that was going to be easy and this certainly fit the bill. But its ease to make was overtaken by its tastiness from the first bite. 

The combination of coriander, garlic, lemon and walnuts (left over from previous walnutty recipes)  together with a small palatte of spices was simply a superb sauce / baked topping that perfectly accompanied the beautiful whole sweetlip that I picked up in the morning from my favourite fishmonger. While Stephanie gave no serving / accompaniment suggestions, I took advantage of the additional space in the baking tray to bake some zucchini in the sauce which worked (I think at least) well with the fish as well as reducing the number of pans that had to be washed up the next morning. 

This was rated by the punters at last night’s dinner as a “definitely a make again” recipe.

Leave a comment