Recipe #48 – blue eye cutlets with cumin

photo 1 (21)On the menu last night was blue eye cutlets with cumin – or at least it would been if I had been able to purchase any blue eye travella or indeed any cutlets from my fishmonger of choice. Instead (and just as delciously, I think, we had gold band snapper fillets with cumin. Close enough I reckon.  I mean they even look the same, in a dark room, with the sun behind them, right.

Golden-snapper-Lutjanus-johniiblue-eye-codThe fish was paired with an orange, olive and fig salad, which due the absence of an orange and olive salad in Stephanie’s book, was  based on recipes in one of my other favourite cookbooks, Crazy Water, Pickled Lemon.

Despite the difference in the fish and in the portion, this recipe was both easy and tasty – a magic combination that often results in a ‘definitely make again’ rating which is what it achieved from the diners.

1 thought on “Recipe #48 – blue eye cutlets with cumin

Leave a comment